TLAB – T-McBee’s Top 25 Songs in Animation

LegitBlogSongs copy

L-L-Legit! You are now reading the Legit Animation Blog! Or as I like to call it, TLAB! Well, it’s that time! A time where I make a huge ass list of my favourite things in animation!

For months I wanted to do a list of my favourite songs in animation, whether it was from a full length feature film, TV series or a short cartoon. There are tons of songs that appeared in animation and unfortunately I had to choose only 25 songs for this list. I could mention more, but that would take forever to do and would never let me finish this countdown article.

This is T-McBee here listing down my Top 25 Songs in Animation! Now let me briefly explain the rules:

1. One song per franchise.

2. Theme songs don’t count. I already made a bunch of lists of cartoon theme song months ago.

3. The song needs to have a character singing along to the lyrics or a song singing track that is highly suitable for the scene.

4. These are my personal choices. You’re welcome to mention your favourites by leaving a comment here or at the forums at itstailtime.net.

Oh! One last thing! I’ll be mentioning some songs from Disney films, so there might be slighter changes with those choices compare to my old list of Top 10 Songs from Disney Animated Films.

Well enough chattering like a chatterbox for you guys, let us sing along with the toons and be part of their world to begin the list. So here we go!

25. Sweet Victory

Spongebob Squarepants

tumblr_mhpsnqP3h71rt9czso1_500

The first time you watched this musical segment from Spongebob Squarepants and seeing all your favourite Spongebob characters lip syncing and rockin’ hard to David Glen Eisley’s “Sweet Victory”, I bet you literally had your jaw dropped for how epic this moment was, right?

The Sweet Victory scene really surprised me the first time I watched it back in high school and personally, I will admit that this scene in the episode “Band Geeks” made me respected the series more. Oh Spongebob… What happened to your awesomeness that you had back in the day? Seriously! What happen to it?

24. Istanbul

Tiny Toons Adventures

hqdefault1

Tiny Toons Adventures had their share of great musical segments, but like with some animated TV shows like Spongebob Squarepants, they would lip sync to a popular song. Tiny Toon’s presentation of “Istanbul” sung by They Might Be Giants was fun with good hand drawn animations, solid editing and most importantly, a catchy tune to boot.

While the narration in the animations might be historically incorrect or doesn’t fit well with the song according to what some people would nitpick about, but come on…It’s They Might Be Giants with Tiny Toons! A great combination of two awesome things from the 90s into one animated musical number!

23. Eye of the Tiger

Persepolis

104525e-image-de-Persepolis-4181

Now here’s a song segment that you wouldn’t expect to happen in one of my favourite animated films of all time. In Persepolis, Marjane Sarapi actually sang Eye of the Tiger off key, which amusingly surprised me the first time and had me laughing pretty hard about it too. Marjane’s singing maybe off, but for a character voiced with a thick accent, it is a decent effort, especially when English is not her first language to speak.

It’s good to see an animated character actually singing “Eye of the Tiger” in a montage sequence. It’s the most creative presentations I have seen when it comes to these montages that uses Survivor’s 80s classic hit.

22. Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now

Cats Don’t Dance

36056

Cat’s Don’t Dance is one of those films that doesn’t get that much appreciation from viewers. It’s a shame too because the film surprisingly had amazing animations and solid musical numbers. The one song I like that easily makes me remember Cat’s Don’t Dance right away is Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now. It’s energetic, fun and one of the greatest last songs to be played in an animated feature.

Musical lyrics by Randy Newman are always mixed in animated feature films. Some of good, while some are boring. But with Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now, the uplifting lyrics, catchy tempo and stunning animations were combined perfectly for this scene. It’s a great song to hear when things get in your way and you want to feel all confident in their faces.

“If you don’t like this song then I’m going to sing it anyway!” ­čśë

21. The Pusher

Clone High

pusher

Clone High provided some solid and funny quality music numbers in some of the episodes, especially in the heavily musical episode “Raisin the Stakes: A Rock Opera in Three Acts”. The Pusher, sung by, well… the Pusher, is a rockin’ kick-ass tune and it definitely became my favourite song from the show.

This song has Jack Black as the singing voice for the Pusher, which puts it a little higher on the list. C’mon! You can’t go wrong with Jack Black! A rocking tune combined with trippy visuals makes it a killer song to listen to. It’s also the song that’s not as acid trip looking as the other musical scenes in the episode. ┬áSeriously! There’s a lot of flashy subliminal imagery that goes throughout this episode!

20. Road to Rhode Island

Family Guy

big10_musical3

Now I know what you’re thinking…┬á“T-McBee like a song from Family Guy? I thought she hated that show.”

While I am not a huge fan of the show today, I used to like watching the earlier seasons of Family Guy back in the early 2000s. Brian and Stewie’s duet number Road to Rhode Island provided an uplifting swing vibe with subtle crude comedy into the mix, which became my all-time favourite song from the show.

Road to Rhode Island from the episode, Road to Rhode Island, is not only my favourite song from Family Guy, but the most memorable song that Stewie and Brian Griffin has ever sung together. ┬áThis music number felt really fitting with the episode and I gotta say it didn’t force too much crude comedy like other songs I’ve witness in Family Guy. It’s a great song sung by the most likeable characters in the show.

19. Kiss the Girl

The Little Mermaid

Kiss_the_Girl

While I think Disney’s the Little Mermaid is an okay flick, I will say the biggest highlights of the film were the musical segments. Normally fans of the film would pick Part of Your World or Poor Unfortunate Souls as their favourite song, but my favourite musical number is surprisingly Kiss the Girl sung by Sebastian the Crab.

Kiss the Girl is highly musical oriented that takes the advantage of percussion rhythms and colourful scenery of fish spitting fountains and dancing flamingos to make this segment romantic and fun. The ambience for this part didn’t felt too cheesy or slow like in older Disney films (except for the Sha-la-la-la-la part), so the touch of ┬ásubtlety beats made this scene incredibly engaging. Sebastian sure is the expert of love making! ­čśŤ

18. Bugs Bunny Square Dance

Looney Tunes

1130963476

Now this pick holds more comedic nostalgia for me since watching the Looney Tunes cartoons were part of my childhood. There were some songs that the wascally wabbit, Bugs Bunny, and the other Looney Tunes had sung that felt pretty memorable, though if I had to choose a favourite, the Bugs Bunny Square Dance in Bugs Bunny: Hillbilly Hare would get my vote.

Not only you have the the legendary Mel Blanc voicing Bugs Bunny to sing this catchy tune, but you witness a comedic segment with comedic lyrics, solid animations and cartoon slapstick and violence in the scene. I find it pretty hilarious that the two hillbilly dudes in the cartoon literally followed along to the lyrics Bugs Bunny is singing to, ending themselves up in utter pain. Now that’s what I call cartoon comedy!

17. Be Prepared

The Lion King

314920_1257982352270_500_286

The Lion King was one of my favourite Disney movies as a kid and I can see why people love this movie to this day, with outstanding animations and a memorable soundtrack to boot. Though there are some songs from the film that don’t hold up well today (like Hakuna Matata), ┬ábut the songs that are really good deserves to be mentioned here, like The Circle of Life or my personal favourite, Be Prepared sung by Scar.

It’s amazing that Be Prepared went through many difficulties during the production and turned out alright, especially when Jim Cummings took over to finish the rest of the song after voice actor of Scar, Jeremy Irons, lost his voice. The song also provides ambient sounds of didgeridoos, fantastic animations, fun humour and hyenas marching like Nazis. Yup! You heard me correctly… Nazis marching hyenas. ­čśŤ

16. Nations of the World

Animaniacs

tumblr_mbhfbgqR8A1rod7i7o1_400

Animaniacs is perhaps one of the most well made shows by Warner Bros., as well in the 90s. With a show that had great hand-drawn animations also came with great musical numbers, and there were a ton of them. I’ll will go for the fan favourite of Nations of the World sung by Yakko Warner with this choice.

There are many reason why so many people love this song. You get to learn geography from this musical number and you have Rob Paulsen (one of my favourite voice actors) as Yakko Warner singing this tune, which isn’t an easy song to sing along to. It’s incredible that Rob Paulsen was able to sing this song and even to this day, he can breezily sing Nations of the World a-okay. With great animations and a talented voice actor to sing this tune, it deserves to go over the 20 spot.

15. Aisling’s Song

The Secret of Kells

Brendan_and_the_Secret_of_Kells_Aisling_and_Pangur_1b

Though the Secret of Kells isn’t a movie I am highly crazy about, but it did provide such a beautiful score to listen to. Aisling’s simple, but haunting melody “Pangur Ban” was a moving song that fitted well with the animations and scene in the movie, even if it was just about the cat named Pangur Ban sneaking into the building to save Brendan.

The touch of the English and Gaelic language in the lyrics made the song poetic and enchanting overall. I just wish the song was a little longer, which could have been higher on the list if it was. A really shame too because it is such a beautiful song.

14. Jack’s Lament

Nightmare Before Christmas

129775952-jack-s-lament-spider-jack-png

I remember loved watching The Nightmare Before Christmas back in high school with a few close friends of mine. While I think the story in the film today is flawed but okay, I will admit the musical segments were pretty good, like This is Halloween, What’s This? and Oogie Boogie’s Song. But my personal pick has to be Jack’s Lament just because of it’s witty tone with some of its sorrowful lyrics that I can somewhat relate to in my life.

Jack’s Lament is an expressive tune that combines melancholy lyrics and a touch of quirkiness that really matches Jack Skellington’s character and his situation in the movie. Sure the visuals are at a simple location with not many over the top things happening (except that curly mountain that forms a staircase for Jack), but Jack singing in a cemetery with Sally watching him felt like the perfect setting for this scene. I wish I can take off my head and recite Shakespearian quotations!

13. Eye 2 Eye

A Goofy Movie

a-goofy-movie

Back in my old list of favourite songs in Disney Animated Films that I picked song On the Open Road from A Goofy Movie only because the segment in the film was nicely presented overall. But now that I think more about my nostalgia with this movie, I always found Eye 2 Eye was a song I liked more and it was the best song that played near the end of the film.

Not only you hear a pop artist singing this funky tune, but you possibly see one of the most colourful scenes in A Goofy Movie. There are outstanding shots in this number with strong lighting renders, superb hand-drawn animations and some Disney references in this energetic musical number.

Even if Eye 2 Eye is cut short that uses more comedy and dialogue in the movie, but at least it has a full version track for those who don’t wanna hear voices in the song, unlike the next song I’m going to mention next…

12. Send Love Through (Reprise)

Rock and Rule

Rock and Rule Blu-Ray 17

It is a complete shame that Rock and Rule never released a full soundtrack, except a full version of Angel’s Song that was released as a single by Angel’s singing voice, Debbie Harry. While I may listen to that song a lot on my i-pod nano, I tend to appreciate the reprise segment of Send Love Through a lot more when watching Rock and Rule.

Hearing Angel starting off the song always gives me shivers down my spine every time and it builds up grander when Omar joins along. This musical segment provided intriguing animations and a rocking ass tune to finish off this painfully underrated movie with a bang. Too bad there’s no clean version of this song without the voice work. If there was ever one, it probably would have made it to the top 10.

11. Flashbeagel

It’s Flashbeagel, Charlie Brown

500px-Snoopy&franklin

If you’re a fan of Charlie Brown specials and 80s dance music, then you will definitely remember this music segment from the Peanuts special It’s Flashbeagel, Charlie Brown. Since I love 80s trends (at least some of it), dance music and even the Peanuts cartoon, I had to add Flashbeagel to my list of favourite songs in animation.

Just watching Snoopy on the dance floor wearing that 80s orange outfit always brought a smile to my face and how this funky song really fitted well for a Peanuts special. Though the scene mostly shows Snoopy showing off some 80s funky moves in a dance club (Not sure how he and Franklin got in there without an I.D.), but I found it passible that provided some memorable visuals.

Flash! Flash! Flashbeagel!

10. In the Dark of the Night

 Anastasia

Rasputin-Anastasia-Blu-Ray-rasputin-30093356-1356-576

Even if I don’t really enjoy watching Anastasia these days (I used to as a kid, but not anymore), I will admit that there were some really enjoyable things with this animated feature film, like Rasputin’s song “In the Dark of the Night”. From a musical segment that’s outside of Disney and not a favourite film of mine, this is my favourite villain song ever!

I guess it’s the heavy metal vibe and the epic choir singing that easily made it my favourite song from the film, though the animations used in this musical moment felt rather…off. If the singing bugs weren’t so colourful and cute in this scene or had no singing bugs at all, then I would have respected this song more. Oh well, at least you get Jim Cummings as Rasputin singing this rocking ass tune.

9. Let it Go

Frozen

Disney-Frozen-Let-It-Go-2

A song from Disney’s Frozen surprisingly made it to the list, and it is in the top 10! While I was in a tight situation to either choose “Let it Go” or “The Summer Song” for this list, I had to go with the fan favourite with Let it Go. It had such powerful lyrics that really fitted with Elsa’s character perfectly. Not to mention the CGI animations were just gorgeous in this musical number, especially those ice and snow visuals.

It may sound a bit too American Idol-ish in some parts for a Disney song, but it honsetly didn’t really bug me that much. Idina Menzel performance as Elsa in Frozen was just incredible, especially when she started to sing this song. Congrats Elsa! You became one of my favourite Disney princesses after listening to this tune!

8. La Renaissance

South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut

Laresistance

There are so many South Park songs (including the ones in Bigger, Longer and Uncut) that are comical, funny and even memorable. From all the songs that have been shown in South Park and the whole franchise itself, I would have to choose La Resistance from South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut.

The tone of the song makes a homage to the musical Les Miserable, which I see it as a funny parody where all the characters that are involved in the South Park movie sing this imperial sounding tune. And since I don’t care about the musical Les Miserable (especially witnessing that 2012 version that put me to sleep), I was okay with the movie parodying it. I seem to like La Resistance for how it combined an epic ┬ásounding tempo with comedic lyrics together. Weird how a song from South Park will give me such satisfying goosebumps…

 

7. Baby on Board

 The Simpsons

simpsons-barbershopquartet_1245158144

Like South Park, The Simpsons provided the most memorable songs during their primetime years in the 90s. This was a really difficult decision to choose which song from the Simpsons I would put here since there are so many good ones out there. In the end, it turned out Baby on Board made it on my list.

Baby on Board appeared in the episode “Homer’s Barbershop Quartet” and the song in the end of the episode plays a great homage of the Beatles when the band sang on the rooftop at the Apple building in the UK. As a matter of fact, the whole episode is a whole parody ┬áof The Beatles! In results, Baby on Board was a memorable tune that came from a great classic Simpsons episode. I can imagine myself meeting old friends of mine I haven’t seen in years if I hear this song playing in my head.

6. All Life Long

The Raccoons

raccoo01

You remember how I mentioned that I like 80’s trends and music? Well here’s another song from an animated show in the 80s. Everyone loves the theme song to the Canadian animated show The Raccoons, but since I’m not counting theme songs on this list, I’m going to choose All Life Long that has played in a few montage sequences from the show.

All Life Long is a hauntingly, slow song that has a romantic vibe written all over itself. It’s just pretty heartwarming to listen to with such powerful ballads overall. Forget A Whole New World or Kiss the Girl as favourite romantic songs in animation. All Life Long would be my vote for favourite romantic songs in animation…more like a love song in an animated show.

5. La Seine

A Monster in Paris

Un-Monstre-A-Paris-Screenshot-7-a-monster-in-paris-24619127-2048-1152

If All Life Long from the Raccoons is my favourite love song in an animated show, then La Seine from A Monster in Paris is my favourite romantic song in an animated film. I’m sure some of you haven’t heard of A Monster in Paris, which was an CGI animated film done in France back in 2011 that is set in 1910 about people in Paris finding a terrorizing monster on the loose, but turns out to be an innocent, oversized flea. It’s a cute film overall.

But back to the song, La Seine can be appreciated in both English and French, though I prefer the English version more due to knowing English more and Francoeur in that version does sound cuter. Plus the animations and visuals were very appealing that had Lucille and Francoeur dancing together on stage to the catchy beats, including ┬ájumping into moonlight sceneries outside in Paris and jamming away on the Eiffel Tower. Now that’s how I wanna visit my trip to Paris some day!… Though that’s never going to happen.

4. Colours of the Wind

Pocahontas

418661_1271166845569_full

It amazes me that a Disney film that I found completely forgettable and utterly boring has one song from the movie that reached over the top five for my favourite songs in animation. Colours of the Wind from Disney’s Pocahontas is one of the most expressive songs I have ever heard in a Disney animated film. It provides such a strong message about the environment, race, animal rights – basically giving the message that everything in the world should be equal.

The hand drawn look and animations in Colours of the Wind are always beautifully to see if you’re into spiritually environment themes in animated sequences. While I find odd that the start of the song gets edited with the lyrics in the film, which does sound awkward to listen to. However, the one in the soundtrack does sound fluidly better to the viewers ears, so I highly appreciate the track version more than the one presented in the movie.

3. The Plague

The Prince of Egypt

hqdefault2

Dreamwork’s The Prince of Egypt unfortunately is a film that not too many people talk about when it comes to animated films. A real shame too because it had one of the most powerful soundtracks ever presented in an animated film. The musical numbers were so good that it was pretty hard to choose one. However, I found myself listening to The Plagues a lot more than the other songs from The Prince of Egypt.

What makes The Plagues an outstanding musical number are the visuals. You get to witness solid hand drawn animations presenting a montage of the plagues that occur in the tale of Moses. To make this song even better, the song contains a strong playing orchestra and an epic choir to compose this song. It certainly matches the devastating displays of Egypt suffering from Moses casting the plagues pretty well. Plus the lyrics adds a touch of a sibling conflict between Moses and Ramesses.

Overall, The Plagues from The Prince of Egypt is one song that I find myself listening to all the time these days. You don’t need to be highly religious to appreciate this musical number from a film based on a tale in the Bible.

2. The Bells of Notre Dame

The Hunchback of Notre Dame

d-bells-clopin-2

With an epic choir, a fascinating narration, beautiful hand drawn animations, and the late Tony Jay playing as Jean Claude Frollo, The Bells of Notre Dame is possibly one of the most incredible musical introductions I have ever enjoyed when watching an animated film. This scene is a work of art and definitely my favourite musical number in Disney’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

I know Hellfire gets so much praise whenever someone mentions this Disney animated film. Don’t get me wrong, Hellfire is an incredible song, but I personally thought The Bells of Notre Dame was a better musical number. It just gets the audience invested to dig deeper into the narration and song a little further… unless they have an issue with the dark content displayed in the film. My 10 year old mind back then was capable to watch this film in theatres, so I was okay with seeing Frollo almost going to drop a baby Quasi down a well. Wait, what?

The Bells of Notre Dame from Hunchback of Notre Dame presented this segment beautifully with a great dramatic performance that just sounds poetic through the ear. It’s definitely one of my favourite songs that’s from a Disney animated classic.

1. Worthless

The Brave Little Toaster

BraveLittleToaster-Worthless

Really? Do I need to explain this one? You get cars singing a catchy beat song about their pasts before getting crushed in a crashing conveyer belt to their deaths. Worthless from the Brave Little Toaster is one of those songs that takes the risk of putting a dark concept in a song segment for a family friendly film. And now you know why I love this movie so much.

I am aware that I’ve mentioned this as my favourite Disney song in my list of favourite songs in Disney animated films, though I found out afterwards that Disney only helped to release the movie. So technically, it’s not really a Disney movie, I guess? But anyway, let me move on with the song I like. While some people may tend to nitpick on the interruption during this song, but at least the dialogue were presented in a part where it doesn’t merge with the singing. So I personally love how you hear the dramatic piano keys where the dialogue set in the owners apartment is placed, while jumping to the jazzy horns and fast beat when it goes back to the cars singing at the dump.

Worthless from The Brave Little Toaster took risks in its concept and it was presented really well in my books. Not to mention that it is perhaps the most unique musical number that I have ever seen in an animated film and I tend to enjoy creative ideas like these in animation. ­čśë

And those were my favourite songs in animations, everyone. I’m glad you stood by waiting for this list to come and I’ll hopefully see you guys soon in another article of The Legit Animation Blog!

LEGIT!

Explore posts in the same categories: Animation/Cartoon/Comics, Music

One Comment on “TLAB – T-McBee’s Top 25 Songs in Animation”


  1. […] Legit Animation Blog – T-McBee’s Top 25 Songs in Animation […]


Leave a Reply

