T-McBee’s Top 10 3D Platformer Games

Crash_Bandicoot_3_Warped_Original_Box_Art

 You guys already know my favourite 2D platforming games. Now it’s time to reveal my favourite 3D platforming games. While I prefer 2D platformers a little more, I still appreciate some 3D platforming games just because they can have the same fun, imaginative and creativity as 2D platformers. This list will provide the same rules as the last one, which are:

1. One game per franchise.

2. The following choices below are my personal favourites. Please don’t get offended if you don’t see your favourites on my list. 

Now then, let’s jump from a 2D side scroll level to a 3D open world as I’m listing down “T-McBee’s Top 10 3D Platformer Games”.

10. Spyro 3: Year of the Dragon

(PS1)

Spyro-year_of_the_dragon

I’ll be honest with you all, I’m not a really big fan of PS1 games. I didn’t grew up with the PS1 back when it was popular in the 90s and early 2000s, so by the time I got the chance to play some 3D platforming games for the system, I just found them alright. They’re good, but not anything mind blowing. But if I had to choose one that I liked from the PS1 console, it’s definitely gotta be Spryo 3: Year of the Dragon. It had memorable level designs, colourful 3D enviroments and characters and many fun missions in the game.

spyro3scene

“After her! Don’t let that hooded rabbit that sounds like Milhouse escape with that egg!”

Spyro 2: Riptos Rage was really close to take this place for the memorable cast of characters, fantasy vibe and its great sense of exploration, but there were some missions that were quite tedious and a few that drove me up the wall. Not to mention I hated how Hunter talked down to the player in Spyro 2. At least he wasn’t too bad in Spyro 3. I know people have complained about the additional characters in Spyro 3, but I thought they were decent at best. They were alright to use, except for Bentley. That boxing mission to beat the Yeti can rot in hell.

9. I-Ninja

(PS2, XBox and GC)

150733-I-Ninja_(USA)-1

I-Ninja is one of the few underrated 3D platformers that I’ve enjoyed on the 6th gen consoles, and it kind of annoys me every time I mention this game to people, they think I’m talking about another chibi ninja theme game. I-Ninja is an action packed platformer where you (the player) collect grades for upgrading your belt and sword so you can progress through further levels, challenges and boss fights. While it is quite a generic concept and borrows elements from other platforming titles, it’s got a few things that makes the game enjoyable and entertaining.

Intro-Ninja

“Welp!…Enjoy having your Sensei’s ghost following you in this butt kicking adventure.”

I’ll admit that the game has a few flaws in the gameplay, such as not rotating the camera at a 360 degree angle and many repetitive missions once you’re done with the main ones. However, at least the game has a lot of wise cracking humour from Billy West voicing the Ninja, a catchy soundtrack and some mild violence that you wouldn’t expect in other T-rated platformers like the Ratchet and Clank PS2 trilogy and the Jak sequels. Ever wanted to see an enemy sliced in half by a kitana? Then play I-Ninja to witness that bad ass action out.

8. Conker’s Bad Fur Day

(N64)

conkers-bad-fur-day-n64

Conker’s Bad Fur Day was one game I wasn’t expecting to see from Rare at the age of 13 back in 2001. This game was intended for gamers up to 17 years of age where the main character of the game drinks, swears and does violent acts on other cartoony characters. Conker’s Bad Fur Day really innovated the concept of cartoony looking platform games and how they weren’t always just for kids. To be honest, I wasn’t a fan of this game when it first came out, but I grew fond of the humour and concept as I’ve gotten much older.

Conker_King

“You know this game is going to be awesome when it references a scene from A Clockwork Orange.”

While I love the presentation and feel of Conker’s Bad Fur Day, the actual gameplay is a bit mix for me. There were segments that I really loved, like the Great Mighty Poo boss fight, while others I wanted to punch a wall for the games’ awkward level designs and difficulty. I’m looking at you War Chapter segment… The ideas, voice work, music and graphics makes it the best looking game on the N64, though it’s not the best platformer I’ve played. Making Conker get one hit kills while falling from a massive drop doesn’t really make the game fun.

7. Psychonauts

(6th gen consoles, PC, Mac and various others)

250px-Psychonautsbox

Psychonauts is definitely one of the most creative games that I’ve ever experience from a 3D platforming game. I really love the concept of the game where the main character Raz wants to become a Psychonuat, but goes through trials and dangerous tasks by jumping through other characters minds in order to become a Psychonaut member. The game definitely has a Super Mario 64 feel with the levels, except you’re jumping into people’s minds by going through doors instead of going through framed paintings.

psychonauts

“Big creepy lake monster coming on the surface at night…RUN!”

The game has great writing, a talented voice cast, and very creative level designs that I haven’t seen in many 3D platformers. The issues that I have with this game though is that there are some levels that either felt way too long to beat, like the Milkman Conspiracy chapter (hilarious level, but had too many tiresome objectives to do), or was just simply frustrating as hell, like the Meat Circus chapter (Argh! So frustrating!). Psychonauts is an pretty intriguing game to at least experience once. Plus it’s available on multiple platforms. So no excuse if you haven’t played it yet.

6. Sly 2: Band of Thieves

(PS2)

Sly_2_-_Band_of_Thieves_Coverart

It was so tough for me to either choose Sly 2: Band of Thieves or Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves for this spot on the countdown. As much as I loved the humour and re-playable missions in Sly 3, Sly 2 just had a convincing story and memorable levels that just made players feel like they were part of a big thieving heist than the other Sly Cooper games. Not only you got a sequel with memorable villains this time around, but big open worlds to explore to with a lot of detail to them.

sly2

“Carmelita…Let us dance.”

Sly 2: Band of Thieves just brings a lot of improvements and character this time around, especially for the character Murray in acting much brutish this time around, but still maintaining his silly, innocent presence. I will admit that some missions were annoying to do, as well as collecting the clue bottles. However, most of the missions and explorations didn’t bug me just because I wanted to play more of this game a little longer. And besides, Sly 2 by far contains more levels than other Sly Cooper titles. More Sly Cooper, means more thieving, heisting fun.

5. Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy

(PS2)

Jak_and_Daxter_-_The_Precursor_Legacy_Coverart

When it comes the the Jak and Daxter games for the PS2, there are fans that either choose one from the other. Some liked Jak 3, while others enjoyed Jak 2. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed that Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy felt like a proper collecting 3D platformer like Banjo-Kazooie and Super Mario 64. Jak 2 and Jak 3 had platforming elements to them, though those two felt more like sand box games than platformers. The first game from the franchise is definitely the most colourful game I’ve ever played on the PS2.

jandd-tpl

“Your jaw will drop when you witness Daxter’s low poly model design on your TV screen.”

I will admit that the plot in Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy isn’t anything special as I do prefer the stories from the sequels more. However, it’s the colourful environments, funny dialogue and great platforming that makes me come to this game a lot more than the other Jak titles. Not to mention that having no loading times in the gameplay and Daxter comically mocking your death segments makes this game from the series extremely memorable. You can pretty much say that The Precursor Legacy is my favourite Naughty Dog game ever.

4. Super Mario 64

(N64)

b857b-super_mario_64_box_cover

Oh no! The best and revolutionized 3D platforming game isn’t number one. Super Mario 64 may not be my favourite 3D platformer of all time, but I agree with most gamers that it definitely deserves to be in the top ten. I like how Super Mario 64 feels like a little toy house where a lot of the levels are set as paintings in Princess Peach’s castle. The game has a very charming and welcoming vibe to the presentation, as well as providing well plotted out level designs for its time.

super-mario-64-head

“3D Mario head!?! Quick! Stretch his face out.”

While the game has a primitive look that would be feel outdated than recent 3D modeled video games, I simply enjoy the exploration of Super Mario 64 even to this day. Also, if the N64 graphics does bug you for some weird reason, you could always try it on the DS with updated modeled assets, more challenges and other characters to control besides Mario. I personally like the N64 version a little more for being simple and easy to jump to. Sometimes less equals more.

3. Donkey Kong 64

(N64)

DonkeyKong64CoverArt

I know some people I’ve talked to hates collect-a-thon games in general, especially games like Donkey Kong 64 for the Nintendo 64. Even though this game is tough and provides so much collecting that’ll make your brains explode, it personally provided great memories from my childhood during the summer of 2000. I enjoyed the atmosphere, the music, the characters, the levels…There’s just a lot of charming personality and many things I liked about this game. Even if your main objective was to collect bananas and other collectibles.

DK_Rap

“Stand up and do the Monkey Rap! – Anyone?…Anyone?”

 Is it a perfect 3D Platformer? Not entirely. There are some ridiculous missions in the game that would tares my hair out in frustration. Please don’t get me started with the Donkey Kong arcade missions and the Beetle Races! It may have some annoying missions and segments, but the game’s presentation and unique worlds just gets me to play DK64 even longer. Plus this was Rare’s last Donkey Kong game to provide the Kongs battling the Kremlins in one big epic adventure.

2. Banjo-Kazooie

(N64)

BanjoKazooieCover500px

Gamers are usually 50/50 when it comes to either choosing Banjo-Kazooie or Banjo-Tooie as their favourite game from the series. I understand the love that Banjo-Tooie gets for improving the gameplay compare to Banjo-Kazooie. But to me, Banjo-Tooie had worlds that were way too big that were completely bland, with the game running at slow frame rate once in a while. Though Banjo-Kazooie kind of forced you to collect most of the Jiggies in the game, the game ran beautifully with colourful levels and a quirky personality that I enjoyed much more.

BK-music

“It’s a Banjo-Kazooie Jamboree. Play that fiddle Mumbo!”

Banjo-Kazooie was the first and only 3D Rare title that I’ve ever beaten and I was pretty damn satisfied to ever beat an N64 game by Rare. I’ve always liked the quirky writing and very catchy music in this game, including the characters that were weird, but charming at the same time. I would say my only nitpick about Banjo-Kazooie was re-collecting music notes after you died in a level, but I guess that’s suppose to add some challenge to the game (maybe?). Other than that, Banjo-Kazooie provides a memorable personality that won’t be forgotten by BK fans.

1. Ratchet and Clank: Going Commando

(PS2)

us

Of course a Ratchet and Clank game would be number one on this list due to my appreciation of this witty and fun plaformer series by Insomniac Games. From all the Ratchet and Clank games I’ve played in the past, Ratchet and Clank: Going Commando still remains as my favourite game from the series. I just prefer this one the most for its humour, amusing cutscenes, weapon upgrading (hate it when the series goes up to level 5 with the weapon upgrading) and other gameplay segments like the arena fights and hover bike races.

ratchet

“Always like it when the game breaks the 4th wall in a welcoming way.”

While I do appreciate other Ratchet and Clank games that had better elements in story, weapons and other game assets than in Going Commando, but Going Commando for me just had the funnest single player experience I’ve ever had in a 3D platformer. I was amused by the additional challenges that you could do besides platforming and shooting, as well as the game introducing to bigger improvements that weren’t in the first Ratchet and Clank game… like strafing! Strafing made everything fun. Now that’s how you do a sequel right!

 And that was my list of my Top 10 3D Platformer Games. Feel free to mention your favourite 3D platformers by leaving a comment below. Stay tune for more surprising posts by me when I have the time to do some. Thanks for reading!

T-McBee Out!

Explore posts in the same categories: Gaming

One Comment on “T-McBee’s Top 10 3D Platformer Games”

  1. thehande Says:

    Quite a few games I haven’t played here, but for the ones I have I will have to agree with you entirely.

    It was another good read. =D Good job!


Leave a Reply

